Restoration of a medieval tomb slab in the church of St. Nicholas in Tallinn

My diploma project entailed restoring a medieval tomb slab dated 1631. In addition to the physical restoration and conservation there was research into the materials, history of the environment of the slab and documentation of the processes. The full thesis can be accessed here: link, with the overview of the practical project here: link.
All in all it was an interesting experience and the committe gave me a C for the entire project. I am especially grateful to my instructor Isabel Aaso – Zahradnikova who provided the opportunity and gave advice throughout the process.

As of 22.06.2012 I am a certified sculptor/restorator. Currently seeking options for further studies and also opportunities for applying myself. It is an interesting moment, being at the proverbial crossroads of focusing on either art and sculpture or restoration. As soon as possible I hope to set up my own creative space somewhere in Tartu.

Also- wooden sculptures are a project in progress.

Tell me what you think.

